Darkroom

A friend of mine just sent me a link to a really neat site highlighting the last remaining darkrooms left in London. The photographer is Richard Nicholson and you can see the site here:

http://www.richardnicholson.com/darkroom/

The images prompted a bit of nostalgia in me as I remembered the darkroom at The Museum of Natural History where I spent many an hour chatting with Jackie Beckett, the head photographer and student/assistant to (at various times) Minor White, Paul Caponigro and Ansel Adams. I also remembr my own makeshift darkrooms. At present I have two enlargers packed away and awaiting my move to a bigger house with my family. I still shoot tons of film and develop it in my friend’s darkroom in the Gramercy Park area of Manhattan (near the famous Pete’s Tavern). I mostly scan the film and put the images up on my website. I only make prints when a gallery is interested in showing my work and also for personal use to hang on my wall or to give as gifts.

A darkroom is a personal and sacred place. Time slips away and there is always just one more thing to do before ending the current session. It is idiosyncratic, a reflection of the artist, of how he likes to work and how he see the world.

This is my favorite image only because it has stacks of my favorite paper- Agfa Multigrade. I do miss it so!

This is my favorite image only because it has stacks of my favorite paper- Agfa Multigrade. I do miss it so!

Mr. Nicholson thank you very much for putting these images up online.

P.S. To my friend Diana who sent me the link – Happy Birthday! A bit early but what the heck. She will celebrate her continuing existence on Friday !

Leave a Reply

