A Child of Five

A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five. (Groucho Marx)

Needless to say these are trying times for many Americans. My family like most has it’s share of little burdens and minor crises; an aged parent in the hospital and another to go there soon, potential layoff, mortgage payments, the list goes on. But these are minor. I have my friends and family and I have my children. My family and I were at the beach recently taking advantage of the warm weather and of the fact we were near the shore after visiting my mother in law in the hospital. My kids race to the water  and I follow behind jealous of their exuberance and exhilaration. Everything is wondrous and everything is intense because it is new. As I reach the jetties my five year old son sits and as he sees me approach takes up a semi-meditative lotus position and closes his eyes. Where he learned this I have no idea but I am very interested in Bhuddism and somehow he must have absorbed some of it. You are always teaching your children even when you are not.

It has been a long and tiring day for the kids at the hospital seeing their grandma recover from major surgery. I guess this is his way of saying it was time to relax and enjoy the world. We will not be here forever. And that day we did.

isaac02

When I approach a child, he inspires in me two sentiments; tenderness for what he is, and respect for what he may become. (Louis Pasteur)

Leave a Reply

