Dominion

So just last weekend  (or the weekend before, time speeds up as you get older) I was walking in the woods near my house with my son Isaac pondering what I should create as my next project. I did not want to do anymore street shooting and I was quite happy just photgraphing around my home and neighborhood. As we walked a path that I have walked a hundred times before I started to notice something. There were a lot of trees with names and other words carved into them and also a bench every once in awhile or a water pipe (you get the picture) and suddenly a phrase from the bible came to mind. From Genesis 1:26 (I looked this up. I am an atheist after all and don’t go around memorizing and quoting the Bible!  Just as a side note; remember you have to understand what you are rejecting):

“And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.”

The thought ocurred to me that I should make pictures of all of the marks, detritus and alterations made by people in nature reserves and public parks and national forests. The intersection of man with nature. I know I could do this on a small local, personal level or on a more monumental scale photogroahing dams, logging, etc. But I lack the funds to travel extensively at the moment so I will start off by making universal the local and personal. After all isn’t that what art is about?

Speaking of nature I can’t resist the opportunity to post a picture of Nero!

Nero is the latest addidtion to the our family. He is a rescue dog, adopted from the local animal shelter. He is about 4 or 5 years old and had been at the shelter for 2 years. No one wanted him. Well he may have found a home with us. Nero is part bull dog and part Staffordhire Terrier and probably something else. Just like me and my family he is a wonderful, intelligent and personable mutt!

Leave a Reply

