The Military-Industrial Complex

Did you ever get the feeling that the media and corporations are influencing what you think and how you behave? This is absolutely not a good thing especially when it appears to me that it is mostly lies and distortions that are being propagated. I guess Eisenhower’s fears have come to pass:

In the councils of government, we must guard against the acquisition of unwarranted influence, whether sought or unsought, by the military-industrial complex. The potential for the disastrous rise of misplaced power exists and will persist.

I was especially disturbed when I saw a campaign add for my least favorite Governor of New Jersey ever, Mr. Christie. Unless I heard it incorrectly he is taking credit for funding education when in reality it was the Supreme Court in NJ who forced him to fund education adequately. He is a notorious enemy of  the teachers unions.

I have been having thoughts of this type as I shoot images of outdoor advertisements and billboards juxtaposed against the current “reality”. When I was shooting the Broadway series, which morphed into the Imaginary Polaroids and The Fabric of Language book (on blurb) I noticed I had a penchant for making images such as this:

So I decided to explore the subject a little bit more. I have to admit I am starting out from the pessimistic position that most of what you hear in the media today is a lie or distortion. I guess that’s what comes with age; disillusionment. But (to end on a brighter note) that disillusionment also leads to making some very practical and realistic compromises in your life’s pursuits.

Leave a Reply

