Signs Taken For Wonder

The above title comes from a catalog of work by the photographer Mark Citret. The origin is from a T.S. Eliot poem, Gerontin. The significant part for me:

I an old man,                   

A dull head among windy spaces.           

Signs are taken for wonders. “We would see a sign”:           

The word within a word, unable to speak a word,           

Swaddled with darkness. In the juvescence of the year

As an artist you must always have about you a sense of curiosity of the world. See the world as if through the eyes of a child and wonder at things all over again.

As a busy Dad I don’t get all the time I would greedily want to photograph but I carve time out. I almost always take a long walk on my lunch hour (shh… sometimes it’s more like a lunch hour and a half ) and I look and I see and I wonder.

Reflections in a car window delight me.

And other worlds plainly written on a brick wall make me gasp. The color red makes me say thanks for the gift of sight.

Leave a Reply

