Thanks Panasonic.

I have been having a ball with my Panasonic GF1 camera. It’s a micro four thirds camera which has great picture quality. I even have a series of images I plan to print up either as a book or as small prints (or both) called Personal Ecologies. So far all the images have been shot with my GF1. Recently Panasonic has announced the next generation version of my GF1, the Lumix GX1 with a bigger 16Mega Pixel sensor. I am also a big Nikon fan and there are rumors that the company will be making a major product announcement December 2 of this year. Many Nikonians believe it is the long awaited roll out of the Nikon D800. It is rumored to be a 36 megapixel, full 35mm sensor behemoth. ¬†Immediately my mouth drooled. This would have been unheard just a couple of years ago since I had been a dedicated film photographer until my acquisition of the GF1. The price tag is rumored to be in the $3,600 range. As I was figuring out what I had to sell in order to acquire this imaging machine, I stopped and asked myself do I really need such a behemoth in order to create my images? How new or big or pricey does a camera have to be in order for me to create my work.

You can create photographs with any camera. The legendary Daido Moriyama uses a Ricoh point and shoot camera. There is a cliche in photography (or is it an aphorism at this point) that the best camera for you is the one you carry with you! That is certainly true of my GF1. It is always in my bag and in my hand when walking around. It also usually sits on my dining room table, when I am home, ready to grab at a moment’s notice. That is how I grabbed this image (above). I was coming back from walking my dog Max when I saw this scene after turning the corner. “How beautiful”, exclaimed my wife and before she could turn around to kiss me I ran inside and grabbed my GF1 from the table. I ran back and gave her a kiss and then rested my body and arms on my 1995 Mercury Sable parked on the decline to my garage and took about 12 images. My Leica was locked away in a case in my bedroom (as was my Mamiya and Hasselblad).

Thanks Panasonic.

 

2 thoughts on “Thanks Panasonic.

Leave a Reply

