The New Year

from the series: Personal Ecologies. ©2011 Dave Ortiz

 

It’s Friday, the day before New Year’s Eve and I am here in my office waiting for my last workday of the year to end. It is common for people at this time to start thinking about their New Year’s resolutions and I am usually among them. But this year I will do something different. People who know me realize I have more than a passing interest in Physics and Zen philosophy. Both of these schools of thought embrace the notion of uncertainty and change. Change is inevitable and the uncertainty lies in the nature of the change. This is where I usually get into trouble because I have expectations as to the nature of the change. This year I will have no resolutions. I will have no expectations. I will be and I will do and I will create solely for the sake of creating and I will love solely for the sake of love.

Here’s wishing you a year with no expectations!

2 thoughts on “The New Year

Leave a Reply

