More Imaginary Polaroids

Imaginary Polaroid #7, ©2012 Dave Ortiz

No one can thrive in a vacuum, especially we artist types. We thrive on viewing and experiencing a myriad of things created by a mish-mash of different people. “No man is an island”, said John Donne famously. We find inspiration in the works and ideas of others. An off hand comment by someone can suddenly shed light onto your unrealized dark world. Last week I was having lunch with a dear friend of mine who is a very talented artist creating magical ambrotypes and tintypes. I was telling her about my Imaginary Polaroids when she suddenly quips something about having to find that stippled paper. At first I had no idea what she was talking about and then it hit me. Polaroids have a paper border that has a stipple like texture!

The paper border of a polaroid. ©2012 Dave Ortiz

 

I knew I had to incorporate that into my Imaginary Polaroids. So I grabbed a reject polaroid and scanned it to make a template for my Imaginary Polaroids. The result is above in Imaginary Polaroid #7. Inspiration can come from nowhere and everywhere, be receptive.

Leave a Reply

