More Than Just A Picture

From the series, Navigation Without Numbers, ©2012 by Dave Ortiz

I am beginning to come to the conclusion that being a photographic artist today entails more than just snapping a picture. As I and many others have said already, with today’s cameras (and phones!) it is really easy to take a technically good photograph without really knowing the first thing about photography. As an artist you now have to give your photographs a sense of purpose and function. Just as a single word can only thrive in relation to other words and ideas so should a photograph created today  relate to other images (in a particular project or relate to images as part of a larger history) and exist to say something about the world (an idea, a truth).

As you know I am at the beginning phase of a new photographic project I am calling Navigation Without Numbers. At this point I am in the tentative stage of trying to figure out what I am trying to say and how it will be stated photographically. As you can see from above I like the idea of a spread consisting of 2 (maybe more?) images that physically touch and also have some intellectual/emotional connection. I guess a short explanation of what my project is about is man (meaning me) trying to situate himself in the larger universe. I also like the idea of photographing images from old manuscripts and books. Daido Moriyama once said (as usual I am wildly paraphrasing) that “copy” is the essence of photography. And since I work in a library, hey, why not? But seriously, I think incorporating historical illustrations depicting man’s struggle to understand himself and his place in the universe will give my photographs a historical depth and anchor. By the way, the image on the right is Kepler’s Platonic solid model of the Solar System from Mysterium Cosmographicum (1600)

One thought on “More Than Just A Picture

Leave a Reply

