Them!

THEM! ©2013 Dave Ortiz

THEM!
©2013 Dave Ortiz

When I was a kid there was no greater pleasure than to watch one of those grade B Sci Fi movies on a Saturday afternoon on TV. One of my favorites was a 1954 masterpiece called Them!. It was about mutant ants made gigantic by nuclear radiation in the southwest desert. Loved it. One of the great things about the movie was the sound effects. The ants made this weird out of this world buzzing-whirring sound. It was very sci fi spooky.

This weekend me and the family took a trip to the Nature Reserve 2 miles away to take a look at that 17 year natural phenonmena that is the periodic Cicada. It’s mating time and there were thousands of those noisy little pesky rascals. The noise was amazing but what was more amazing was that I recognized the sound. Yup, you guessed it. The noise I was hearing was the same exact sound as the ants in Them! I started screaming in a little girl voice, Them! Them! My kids looked at me like I was crazy, my wife was momentarily perplexed and then a smile of recognition passed on her face! She playfully bumps me and announces, your father is making an allusion to an old movie. I then went on to explain the sound and the movie. My kids and I are watching the movie tonight! If you haven’t seen it, watch it and you’ll understand the little girl voice.

Of course I had to take some pictures as we walked and I thought the image above was quite appropriate.  Okay so it is not an ant, Who do you think I am  E.O. Wilson?

Leave a Reply

