Landscape Baggage

From, Here(now) There(when), ©2013 Dave Ortiz

From, Here(now) There(when), ©2013 Dave Ortiz

I have to admit that I was a bit lazy in my last post. I used a picture that just happened to be on my computer. I think the picture above describes the idea of my series of landscape photo attempting to depict the integrality of Time in the conception of Space much better. We all have Einstein to thank for this!

Speaking of landscapes the more I think about (and read about) the concept of landscape the more complicated it seems to get. For example  in the image above there is a person in the landscape. But even if there wasn’t the viewer is implied in any landscape image since it is a view and a view implies a viewer. A viewer implies that the landscape is conceptual. The landscape is how we view and think about it. Further the landscape environment itself is a conception of what a landscape or environment should be, whether in an urban setting or a country setting or park. It is a conception of an environment by some architect or designer. In the end therefore, any landscape I make is a conception of an idea of landscape. There is no such thing as a pure landscape.

From, Here(now) There(when), ©2013 Dave Ortiz

From, Here(now) There(when), ©2013 Dave Ortiz

In a book I would combine the 2 images as follows:

Imaginary page from an imaginary book that may exist in the future. ©2013 Dave Ortiz

Imaginary page from an imaginary book that may exist in the future. ©2013 Dave Ortiz

 

Leave a Reply

