Another City

© Dave Ortiz from the series, Another City

© Dave Ortiz from the series, Another City

Like many artists (and people in general) I have a day job and I have a family. Unlike the romantic notions of many I don’t just pickup and go to create art wherever and whenever. And so like many I create photographs in between obligations. I do try to carve out a Saturday a few times a month devoted strictly to just shooting. But mainly I photograph as I go about my day to day business and so a lot of my projects have to fit within those boundaries. It is no surprise then that most of my images are set within New York City. But usually I like to use the City as a backdrop. I don’t make photographs that scream New York. Exactly the opposite, I try to make images that could have been made in any urban environment.

As I grow older I want to carry less and less equipment and lately I find myself shooting with a Leica CM Zoom; a small but high quality point and shoot camera. It fits in the palm of my hand and it is practically invisible until I put it up to my eye to shoot. Not wanting to constrain myself to a certain geographical location as I have for some past series like 42, I have been wandering aimlessly (especially on my lunch hour) creating images of the City within the City. It’s another city found on the side streets and alleys rarely traversed by travelers or tourists.

©Dave Ortiz 2014, from the series, Another City.

©Dave Ortiz 2014, from the series, Another City.

Leave a Reply

