Lennon Leader

john_lennon_ethan_russell_1968_1024x1024

Yesterday was the anniversary of the murder of John Lennon. I was 16 when it happened back ion 1980 and I felt like I imagined people felt when Bobby Kennedy or Martin Luther King Jr. were murdered back in 1968. Alas, with the election of Donald Trump and the rising of the anti-Obama Administration we, more than ever, need a People’s Leader like John Lennon.

To make my case, here are the lyrics to his song, Gimme Some Truth. Art will need to play a part in the people’s reply to the rise of new white power dynamics and oppression.

Gimme Some Truth by John Lennon
I’m sick and tired of hearing things
From uptight, short-sighted, narrow-minded hypocritics
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth
Ive had enough of reading things
By neurotic, psychotic, pig-headed politicians
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth

No short-haired, yellow-bellied, son of tricky dicky
Is gonna mother hubbard soft soap me
With just a pocketful of hope
Money for dope
Money for rope

I’m sick to death of seeing things
From tight-lipped, condescending, mamas little chauvinists
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth now

I’ve had enough of watching scenes
Of schizophrenic, ego-centric, paranoiac, prima-donnas
All I want is the truth now
Just gimme some truth

No short-haired, yellow-bellied, son of tricky dicky
Is gonna mother hubbard soft soap me
With just a pocketful of soap
Its money for dope
Money for rope

All I want is the truth now
Just gimme some truth now
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth

 

Leave a Reply

